Non stop

That would describe my current circumstances.  A non stop merry go round of work, work, and you guessed it.  More work.

I have recently been recalled to my job after a year of being furloughed. Between unemployment,  which wasn’t much, odd job work through last summer, the pride smarting use of food stamps, and the free breakfast and lunch programs at my children’s schools, we made it through. I am trying like crazy to play catch up to the last year’s worth of bills that I neglected, now that I am working again. It is quite literally a non stop endeavor. And exhausting.  Physically, mentally and emotionally.

I am fortunate to have been hired by a place as secondary employment that happily works around my full time job. Slowly but surely, bills are getting paid, projects are getting started, and the things I had to put off, like trips to the dentist, are finally being made, much to my relief.

My goals are:

Have all non living expense bills paid off.

Complete my project ‘wish list’.

Have emergency money in savings.

Possibly pay off the remainder of student loans.

I am slowly marking off things as I go, and the satisfaction of accomplishing each one is tremendous. I really don’t plan on working so much forever, but I will do it as long as I can physically handle it. My kids really don’t like it, and I am not enjoying spending so much time apart from them. I have never been one of those parents that couldn’t wait for school to start, or for their holiday break to be over, or wanted a trip away on my own. Being away from them is painful to me. I just keep telling myself that I am working towards a greater goal that will benefit us all. I want to have little to no debt.

If I can get myself there, then no matter what happens, I will be in a much better position to handle it. The year I was furloughed really shook me. I am a planner. I like to know what’s going happen, when, how and why, and plan way ahead. I do NOT like financial surprises, and if you can’t tell, I’m not spontaneous by nature. There are a lot of people out there that are in a worse situation than I was, and I really feel for them. I now have a better understanding of the horrible economic hell that has gripped our country, and I am relieved mine was short lived, even though it didn’t seem like it at the time.

I am grateful I am frugal little mizer, because it helped me maintain everything, with almost nothing. I look at my kids, and wonder if they too learned from the experience,  or did they even notice? We don’t live beyond our means,  never have. I have never been one to spend money without a darn good reason. I guess their lifestyle really didn’t miss much of a beat. Then again, is that a good thing? Do I spend so little that we live poorly?

The experience of being laid off is still on my mind. Even though I made it without missing a single house or insurance payment, utility or phone bill, I still can’t give myself a pat on the back in celebration. It really made me question my spending habits.

How much is too much? How much is too little?

That question won’t be answered tonight, but I do mull it over pretty often.

2 thoughts on “Non stop

  1. I’ve struggled with this sort of question too. My husband and I are both self-employed and this winter, when his work slowed way down, took a toll on us. Now, with things looking a little up and work on the rise, I’m bound and determined to set us up better for next time…

    Like

Leave a Reply

